Photoshop Collage (Sketch 3)

Standard

wriedhomework

For this photoshop collage, I used about 10 different layers of different images I found on the internet. This collage illustrates the concept of different cultural aspects of my life “swallowing,” in essence, personal experiences or childhood memories. For the base I used a painting I found on tumblr.com of a mouth swallowing waves. The mouth is growing what looks like bacteria, but is actually a close up of the molecule THC, found in marijuana. The patterns on the skin are the sign for “ohm” embedded in a lotus flower, which is a chant used in mediation. Meditation and eastern asian culture is something I have always been interested but have strayed from due to the fear of cultural appropriation. These images represent parts of my life and culture I am influenced by. The picture of a landscape in the waves is a photograph I took of my grandparents village in the south of France, called Sauve. The figures floating in the water are actually Will Smith, posing in a scene from the Fresh Prince of Bell-Air. These last two images represent big parts of my childhood.

Leave a comment